A User's Guide to Medium

Advice from a six-year veteran

Douglas Giles, PhD
5 min readMar 19, 2024

--

(Source: Medium.com)

I've been publishing on the Internet since 1994. Some day, maybe I'll be good at it. But I've seen a lot over the years, and learned a thing or two. I have been writing on Medium since 2018 and I haven't seen a writers' platform with more promise than Medium has, despite its shortcomings. To try to help make Medium more useful and enjoyable for all, here are some tips.

For Readers

How to Dig Deeper

Like most Web platforms, Medium presents its content in a feed that is run by algorithms. Unlike some sites, Medium’s algorithm isn't designed to manipulate you into seeing more ads. That’s a wonderful aspect of Medium.

That said, the Medium feed is terrible. What the algorithm shows you has no strong connection to what authors you are following or what you are interested in. The Medium.com home page will show you dozens of articles. On a good day, up to half of the articles on that feed will be from authors you follow or topics you read. Usually, it will mostly give you stuff unrelated to your interests. Should be easy to track your reading patterns and respond appropriately, but the algorithm isn't programmed for that. I am continually amazed at how Medium’s feed shows me almost nothing I am at all interested in.

--

--

Douglas Giles, PhD

Philosopher by trade & temperament, professor for 21 years, bringing philosophy out of its ivory tower and into everyday life. https://dgilesauthor.com/