My New Book on the History of Western Philosophy

If you like my Medium articles, you will love my book.

Douglas Giles, PhD
3 min readJan 13, 2023

--

Available here.

I began teaching philosophy in 1998, and I love talking with students and helping them discover new ideas. Several years ago, I gave up on the mass-produced introduction to philosophy textbooks. The offerings from the Big Four educational publishing corporations (Cengage, McGraw Hill, Pearson, and Oxford) are overpriced (I can’t in good conscience ask my students to pay $100 for a book, then more for required “extra resources”). Worse, the textbooks have been degrading in quality, full of errors and omissions, and failing adequately to describe philosophy. I decided to write my own introduction to philosophy textbook. After two years of researching and writing, I am proud to publish the result.

How We Are and How We Got Here: A Practical History of Western Philosophy

A fresh and original presentation that is easy for students, instructors, and general readers to use. This well-written, insightful history of philosophy is basic enough to be understood by those with no prior experience with philosophy but sophisticated enough to inform further those with some knowledge of philosophy.

--

--

Douglas Giles, PhD

Philosopher by trade & temperament, professor for 21 years, bringing philosophy out of its ivory tower and into everyday life. https://dgilesauthor.com/