The Soul of a Philosopher

A Businessman Reminded Me about the Essence of Philosophy.

Douglas Giles, PhD
4 min readJun 4, 2022

--

(Source)

Philosopher for Hire

Every now and then I am contacted by someone who wants to hire me to help them write a paper or book. I’ve had rewarding collaborations over the years, helping people form their ideas and polish their writing, and it’s been a nice income supplement (being a philosophy professor pays less than most people think). I love ideas and I want to make a positive difference, so I enjoy helping people who share those passions.

Recently, I was contacted by a businessman asking me to help him write a paper for publication in a philosophy journal. He claimed to have figured it all out, had the system that will solve humanity’s problems. I’m pretty dubious about grand totalizing claims, but I always take a look at what such people have. This guy wasn’t a total crackpot, and he could actually write (it’s disturbing how few people can), and his basic idea was somewhat interesting, so I agreed to an online meeting.

--

--

Douglas Giles, PhD

Philosopher by trade & temperament, professor for 21 years, bringing philosophy out of its ivory tower and into everyday life. https://dgilesauthor.com/