Well, I Made Someone Angry at Me

The Shadowban Chronicles, Part 3

Douglas Giles, PhD
3 min readApr 4, 2024

--

Artist’s rendition

I’ve written before about the phenomenon of shadowbanning. It’s when the gatekeepers decide an article should not be allowed to be seen by readers. It’s an article that isn’t banned, but is well hidden, refused distribution.

I’m used to it, well, getting used to it. I’ve come to expect a few shadowbans each month, when the gatekeepers don’t like the focus of an article, like one celebrating International Women’s Day. I did not expect that my article of advice on best ways to use this platform would make someone so angry they shadowbanned that and my next five articles!

Now, fair to ask how I know which articles are shadowbanned. The numbers don’t lie.

That’s a screen shot from my stats page showing three articles published in last half of March within five days of each other. I added the labels in the left-hand column to be clear what you are looking at. As it happens, those three consecutive articles are roughly my averages of views and reads for the three distribution categories. A shadowban condemns an article to about one-tenth the views that article would normally receive. I have seen…

--

--

Douglas Giles, PhD

Philosopher by trade & temperament, professor for 21 years, bringing philosophy out of its ivory tower and into everyday life. https://dgilesauthor.com/